You are here

“What a smashing bloke he was!” Interview with Dick Mills

Title“What a smashing bloke he was!” Interview with Dick Mills
Publication TypeManuscript
Year of Publication2014
AuthorsGarcía-Karman, Gregorio
Date Published05/2014
Library/ArchiveUniversity of Huddersfield

Dick Mills is a veteran engineer at the Radiophonic Workshop who worked with Roberto Gerhard on several projects towards the end of the 1950s and the beginning of the 60s. The interview took place in the foyer of the Royal Festival Hall, London, 16 May 2012 (the concert venue in which Gerhard’s Symphony No. 3 “Collages” was premiered 51 years earlier, on 8 February 1961). The conversation revolves around Gerhard’s works involving manipulated tape produced in collaboration with the Radiophonic Workshop such as Asylum Diary (1958), Lament for the Death of a Bullfighter (1959), Symphony No. 3 “Collages” (1960), and The Anger of Achilles (1963). It also touches upon general aspects of the working methods at the BBC in the early days of the Workshop.

File attachment: